Using the Warning System
Warning a User
After you have gotten to the Warn User page, you will see a number of options and fields that need to be completed.
- Current Warning Level - Gives you the number of previous warnings the member has received.
- Change to Warn Level - Gives you the option to increase the member's warn level, decrease it, or add a warn note (no change to the warn level).
- Warning Reason - The offense the member has committed to deserve the warn increase.
- Message to Member - Allows you to send a message to the member you are warning. If you are placing the member on Moderator Preview, it will be sent as a Personal Message. If you are suspending the user, it will be sent as an email and appear as an error code when the member tries to access your forum.
- Require moderator approval of member's postings for: - Allows you to put the member on Moderator Preview, which means all posts and topics must first be approved by a moderator before other members can see them. You can put the member on Moderator Preview for a set number of hours, days, or for an indefinite period.
- Ban member for: - Allows you to suspend the member from your forum for a set number of hours, days, or ban them for an indefinite period. When members are banned, they cannot access your forum.
- Apply a Member AutoTool: - Allows you to apply an autotool to the member.
- Reduce postcount by: - Allows you to lower the post count of the member you are warning.
After you have completed everything you wish to, click on the Submit Warning button and you're done.
Here are three examples of how you may use the warning system to warn a user and apply a punishment.
- A member advertises their board. A moderator warns the user and places them on Moderator Preview for 3 days, sending a message to the user to let them know what happened.
- A member is rude and obnoxious to other users. A moderator warns the user and bans them for 5 days.
- A member spams to increase their post count in hopes of gaining access to a special forum for “elite” members only. A moderator warns the user, places them on Moderator Preview for 3 days, and reduces their post count by 100 posts.